Professor Paul Greenfield, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Queensland, has been appointed as chair of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) board.

Professor Greenfield has been a member of the board since 2007. He is also Chair of the Scientific Advisory Group and a Board Member of the South East Queensland Healthy Waterways Partnership;  Chair of the Expert Panel on Purified Recycled Water that advises the Queensland Water Commission; Chair of the Thiess International Riverprize Committee and the International Water Centre; Chair of the Group of Eight;  and a member of  the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO) Advisory Board.

A new appointment to the board is John Ryan, Executive Director of Cloon Economics. Mr Ryan was previously Deputy Secretary in the Department of Resources Energy and Tourism, Commissioner for the Australian Energy Market Commission, head of the Canberra Office of the Allen Consulting Group, head of the Science Industry Policy Division of the Department of Industry, Science and Technology, Deputy Director of the Bureau of Industry Economics and project director at the Industries Assistance Commission.

Ian Frazer has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Translational Research Institute (TRI) in Brisbane, Queensland.

Professor Penny Sackett, Australia’s Chief Scientist, has resigned after two and a half years in the job, citing personal and professional reasons for her decision.

Ground breaking research in Australia’s universities will be boosted by grants worth $1.5 billion under the Research Blocks Grants allocation for 2011.

The Western Australian Government has allocated $5.2 million over the next three years to the new Targeted Research Fund (TRF) which has been set up to fund research that impacts directly on the health of Western Australians.

Australia’s ICT Research Centre of Excellence NICTA, enterprise software company SAP and Europe’s largest application-oriented research organisation Fraunhofer have announced the opening of the Future Logistics Living Lab. 

Funding totalling $7.4 million has been awarded to 18 research teams under the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) Development Grants scheme.

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and New Zealand Prime Minister John Key, have announced a new initiative to integrate New Zealand and Australia’s patent examination services. 

The Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (DRET) has announce the decision to create a new professionally independent unit, to be known as the Bureau of Resources and Energy Economics (BREE).

The type of inventions that can be patented in the future is the focus of a new report by the Advisory Council on Intellectual Property.

The Australian Government has announced funding for priority adaptation research into preparing Australia for the impacts of climate change.

The NSW Government has announced funding of $16 million for two major medical research initiatives.

The University of Tasmania, CSIRO’s Division of Food and Nutritional Sciences and the Defence Science & Technology Organisation (DSTO) are to jointly to establish a new Research Centre in Food Innovation at Stottsdale in Tasmania.

The Australian National Institute for Public Policy launched at the Australian National University today unites the strengths of a world-leading public service and a world-class university.

The Australian Research Integrity Committee (ARIC), established by the Federal Government to provide a review system of institutional processes to respond to allegations of research misconduct, is now open for business.

The University of Queensland has been appointed lead agent for the Australian Government’s $50 million Research Data Storage Infrastructure (RDSI) project.

A new Industry Doctoral Training Centre  (IDTC) has been established by the Australian Technology Network (ATN) of Universities to foster professional skills among mathematics researchers and help them launch their careers in industry.

The Australian Research Council’s national report on Excellence in Research for Australia, 2010, has been released, providing an assessment of the quality of research conducted in Australian universities.

Archived News

RSS More »