Seven new members have been appointed to the South Australian Premier’s Science and Industry Council for three-year terms beginning on January 1.


The new members are:

  • Professor Peter Langridge, South Australia’s 2011 Scientist of the Year and Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics;
  • Professor Suzanne Millar, Director of the South Australian Museum;
  • Professor Lynne Cobiac, Deputy Chief CSIRO Food and Nutritional Sciences;
  • Mr Paul Sandercock, Vice President Asia Pacific, SMR Automotive Australia;
  • Dr Craig Priest, 2011 Tall Poppy and Research Fellow Ian Wark Research Institute, University of South Australia;
  • Mr Kim Scott, BAE Systems, Director of Land Systems Division Business Unit; and
  • Mr Mike Heard, Former Chief Executive Officer, Codan Pty. Ltd; Board of the Leaders Institute of South Australia Inc (LISA).

The new appointees join the Premier, Minister Kenyon, Chief Scientist Don Bursill, and seven existing members:

  • Dr Ian Gould, Chair, CSIRO Mineral Resources Sector Advisory Committee; Chair, SA Minerals and Petroleum Expert Group; Chancellor, University of SA; Member of the Economic Development Board (EDB);
  • Professor Angel Lopez, joint South Australian 2010 Scientist of the Year, Clinical Professor in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Adelaide; Director of the Centre for Cancer Biology and Head of the Division of the Human Immunology at SA Pathology;
  • Professor Tanya Monro, joint 2010 South Australian Scientist of the Year, Director, Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing; Director, Centre for Expertise in Photonics, University of Adelaide;
  • Dr Gabrielle Todd, Senior Research Fellow, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, University of South Australia;
  • Dr Leanna Read, Managing Director, TGR Biosciences Pty Ltd; Member of the EDB;
  • Professor Phyllis Tharenou, Executive Dean, Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, Flinders University; and
  • Mr Dennis Mutton, Chair, BioInnovation SA.


The Council was established by the State Government in 2002 to provide independent advice on taking advantage of the contribution of the state’s capabilities in science, research and innovation to South Australia’s overall development.


Mr Kenyon said the Council has re-examined its previous priorities and will focus on developing the State’s science and research capabilities in the critical area of adaptation to industry.


“This is in line with the recommendations to revitalise manufacturing as proposed by the ‘Thinker in Residence’, Professor Göran Roos and in the establishment of the Department of Department for Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy,”  he said.