The Federal Government has announced the formation of a new expert committee comprised of small business and industry specialists to oversee the new R&D tax Incentive.


Announcing the new R&D Tax Incentive Advisory Committee, Innovation Minister Senator Kim Carr said it would mean that industry and business - users of the R&D tax Incentive - will be able to advise government on how it is working.


"This Incentive is the biggest change to the way we support R&D in a long time and it is important that we get it right. This committee of experts will monitor the performance of the program and provide advice to Government on its implementation and operation."


The committee has been established to ensure the program provides the intended benefits to Australian industry from increased investment in research and development.


Innovation Australia chairman Mr David Miles AM will chair the advisory committee.


The R&D Tax Incentive Advisory Committee will be responsible for canvassing a broad range of views on the operation of the R&D Tax Incentive. It will consider program performance data and analysis provided by the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and the Australian Taxation Office.


Other committee members include:

  • Dr Nicholas Gruen - Principal, Lateral Economics (newly appointed to the Innovation Australia Board)
  • Mr Innes Willox - Director, International and Government Relations at Australian Industry Group (newly appointed to the Innovation Australia Board)
  • Mr Serg Duchini - National R&D Partner Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
  • Ms Kathy Kelly - Director of Boyce Chartered Accountants
  • Dr Anna Lavelle - CEO of AusBiotech
  • Mr Sam Turnbull - CEO of Flipscreen, an SME based in rural NSW.