The Minister Assisting for Industry and Innovation, Senator Kate Lundy, has announced the appointment of an independent expert committee to help Innovation Australia deliver the $1 billion Clean Technology Investment programs.


The seven-member committee will assess applications by businesses for funding under the two Clean Technology Investment programs.


The new committee will be chaired by Ms Fiona Pak-Poy and includes Dr Michele Allan, Mr Nixon Apple, Dr Bruce Godfrey, Dr Bruce Whan, Ms Sylvia Tulloch and Mr Bruce Grey.


"We have seen a huge amount of interest from the manufacturing sector in these programs and this committee of experts will play a vital role in assessing the merit of applications," Senator Lundy said.


"Collectively, the new appointments have a broad range of experience in business and clean technology and I am very pleased that we have been able to appoint a committee of this calibre. Their manufacturing experience and expertise will enable them to help deliver the important Clean Technology Investment programs to ensure the sector invests in clean energy and remains competitive."


The $1 billion in Clean Technology Investment funding has two programs: the $800 million Clean Technology Investment Program and the $200 million Clean Technology Food and Foundries Investment Program. Both programs encourage manufacturers to invest in energy efficient capital equipment and low-pollution technologies.