Australia’s thirteen best university teachers have been recognised at the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education, Senator Scott Ryan, congratulated them for their outstanding work, and acknowledged nine university programs that have worked to enhance student learning as well.

“The outstanding university teachers and programs deserved to be recognised and celebrated for their exceptional work,” Senator Ryan said.

“This year’s recipients have worked to engage students in active learning and relate their curriculum to the world in which we live.”

The lecturers honoured by the awards cover disciplines as diverse as dental studies, business, construction, languages, medical science and architecture.

The programs to receive honours range from specialised medical treatment for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, to enhancing the outcomes for students studying in laboratories.

“I would particularly like to congratulate Professor John Croucher, from Macquarie University, who was awarded the prestigious Prime Minister’s Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year,” Senator Ryan said

“Professor Croucher has an international reputation for his innovations in teaching and has inspired students from all walks of life to understand the importance of numeracy skills to their future professions and everyday lives.

“Australian universities are internationally renowned and the Government is committed to implementing policies that ensure we continue to have a truly world class higher education system,” he said.

A complete list of the recipients and their achievements is accessible here.