The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) has taken steps to promote women's roles in technological sciences and engineering – both within the Academy and nationally.

The Academy has approved a Gender Equity Policy which "recognises that more direct action is needed to address the gender imbalance both within the Academy membership and its activities as well as more broadly in promoting women in senior level in technological sciences and engineering in Australia."

In reaffirming its commitment to the importance of the full participation of women in technological sciences and engineering in Australia, ATSE's Gender Equity Policy says:

  • Women constitute a wealth of talent and creativity. Research Institutes, academia, business and government need to adopt mechanisms that enable women in technological sciences and engineering to thrive and excel and be recognised so they can actively contribute to evidenced-based policy advice in addressing the key national challenges facing Australia's prosperity and wellbeing – now and into the future; and
  • Maximising participation of women at all levels in technological sciences and engineering is a priority in terms of maximising productivity and innovation in Australia, as well as seeking social equity.

ATSE has committed to promoting women within its own organisation and to focus more broadly on career development of younger women, engagement with other organisations on gender equity issues and promotion of women in technological sciences and engineering across Australia.

ATSE has appointed an Advisory Group from its Fellowship to advise its Board on gender equity issues and to work with Vice President, Membership and the ATSE Chief Executive Officer, Dr Margaret Hartley, to provide advice and direction on implementation of the Policy.

Its members are Professor Susan Pond AM FTSE, Director of ATSE and Commercialisation Australia (Chair); Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE, WA Chief Scientist; Professor Edwina Cornish FTSE, Deputy Vice Chancellor, Monash University; Dr Kathy Hirschfeld FTSE, Member of the Queensland University Senate; Professor Mary O'Kane FTSE, NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer; Dr Leanna Read FTSE, MD and CEO, TGR Biosciences; Professor Margaret Sheil FTSE, CEO Australian Research Council; and Professor Judith Whitworth, AC FTSE, Chair, WHO Global Advisory Committee of Health Research.


Further information is available at