Professor Margaret Sheil, CEO of the Australian Research Council (ARC), has announced the appointment of the Research Evaluation Committee Chairs for the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initative for 2012.


The Chairs for ERA 2012 are:

Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences

Professor Robert Vincent
University of Adelaide

Humanities and Creative Arts

Professor Joy Damousi
University of Melbourne

Engineering and Environmental Sciences

Professor Rose Amal
University of New South Wales

Education and Human Society

Professor Mark Western
University of Queensland

Economics and Commerce

Professor Kim Langfield-Smith
Monash University

Mathematics, Information and Computing Sciences

Professor Mary-Anne Williams
University of Technology Sydney

Biological and Biotechnological Sciences

Professor Jeffrey Schwartz
Griffith University

Medical and Health Sciences

Professor Hugh Barrett
University of Western Australia



The Chairs were selected from the pool of nominations submitted in response to a general invitation by the ARC to the university sector earlier this year.


 “The REC Chairs have a central role in the ERA processes, and I am delighted with the appointment of this distinguished group of researchers,” said Professor Sheil.


“They collectively bring considerable experience and ability which will ensure that ERA evaluations are of the highest standard.”


A brief biography for each Chair is available from the ERA 2012 Research Evaluation Committee Membership page.


The ERA 2012 evaluation will open for submissions in March 2012. For further information, please visit the ERA 2012 page.